Older but apparently not wiser

I remember this one time, when I was about 7, my parents took me to London. Whilst we were out sightseeing they let me eat my own weight in cachi (come on I was 7 what did I weigh like 4 kilos or something?) About an hour later I vomited over tower bridge (not for the last time in my life by the way) and complained of terrible stomach cramps. My father, ever the drama queen, insisted I be taken to hospital because I was ‘obviously suffering from appendicitis’ (obviously). The rest is a blur but as I still have an appendix I’m guessing it was the cachi.

You’d think I’d learn from this experience right? Erm sorry that would be a no. Today I’ve already consumed about 2 kilos. So bad is my addiction that earlier I literally sneaked down to the fruit and veg shop to top up on supplies and I’m currently lying to stef about how many I’ve eaten just in case he wont let me have any more. I’m probably going to manage to fit another in before bedtime….hang on though, what’s that, oh no help I think I’m beginning to feel a slight rumbling in my appendix. (roll your eyes please)

8 thoughts on “Older but apparently not wiser

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love cachi! I get a crate of them for my birthday every year. I do eat them slowly though, to savor them. It’s the only good thing about having a November birthday. Mangia e goditi, Yael!

  2. mummy says:

    Swear you will never, ever try Durian fruit,it stinks like a pair of old knickers, it’s full of fat, you may as well just spread it straight on your thighs and it’s not that cheap either. I’m starting a dependancy support group for fellow addicts in Phuket where it grows in every other backyard. mummy xxx

  3. Cynthia Rae says:

    Next fall you will have to come spend time at our home Yael. We have TWO cachi trees and neither I nor my husband eat the darn things. You can eat yourself sick all you like, for free!Hope you feel better.Cyn

  4. Tracie B. says:

    i can’t remember what those damn things are called in english…

  5. Tiffany says:

    It’s a persimmon. And look, I found the exact picture Yael used on a persimmon page!http://www.justfruitsandexotics.com/Persimmons.htmWho wants to bet that because I put a link in, this will go into your spam file?

  6. I’ve never been able to talk myself into liking these. I am pondering soufflé to overcome that. I hear the ungooey ones might fix my aversion.They are everywhere here and the trees this time of year look like Christmas, all hung with golden balls.

  7. Valerie says:

    I tried these for the 1st time this fall, they are good. The trees around Ascoli are full of cachi. We need to get down to Pescara sometime and maybe get together, maybe have some cachi.

  8. xiriut says:

    Ciao rebel yael! Sono Xiriut!!! Chiedi a StefanoAreknames sono la compagna di uno degli Areknapezz!!! non ho la tua e-mail non sono riuscita a vedere sul tuo blog se c’è oppure no!!! Purtroppo ancora capisco molto poco del tuo blog because I’m very lazy to learn English!!! Diciamo che sto diventando step by step un pò puiù brava ma sono ancora una dummy!!! Ti volevo dire che finalmente ho creato un mio blog if you want to visit it: http://alie-nato.blogspot.comA lot of Kisses and Have a good Trip!!!!

Leave a Reply

Monochrome Mule

Sam Newson | Photography

wildmanwrites's Blog

photography, features, thoughts and ponderings on stuff

Hobo Artclub

Food, Wine, Art Exhibits and Events

Craig Shaw

Things I have written using words

GUSTO! Blog

Gusto Wine Tours - Umbria.

