God give me strength

We’re having that row again, you know the one where the Italian says “if you go out with wet hair you’ll catch a cold”
and I say “bollocks”
Quickly followed by “if you swim after eating you’ll die”
“absolute fucking nonsense”

I really struggle to cope with the fact that my intelligent boyfriend believes this shit, and also that he thinks taking antibiotics can cure a cold and eating half warmed through chicken is a good idea.

What is it about Italians that they cannot accept basic scientific facts? And, since they show such blantant disregard for medical science, why aren’t they all dead?
Stef will later insist for the 8 millionth time that Italian cheese is better than English cheese and then he will be.

15 thoughts on “God give me strength

  1. Laurie says:

    I am SO there. What IS it with the waiting THREE hours after you eat to swim thing???? What IS that?????? Not to mention colpi di vento, colpi di aria, colpi di freddo, colpi di caldo. And here’s the big mystery: WHY did I never have any of these until I moved here…..and now I do???? Positively creepy….

  2. Yes, yes, yes!!! Thank goodness someone said it. I have gotten the wet hair thing a lot. It’s still hot enough you shouldn’t have to worry about it for now. I’ll have to start writing down some of Sante’s gems.

  3. Annika says:

    Three hours after you eat… I guess there is no cafeteria by the pool then? How about having a picnic at the beach?

  4. Anonymous says:

    C’mon Annika! There are plenty of bars near pools and beaches…but do italians really swim? They like to bake in the sun like reptiles!! haha! Autumn

  5. If I had one euro cent for every time I heard “copriti bene–prenderai freddo!” when I moved here, because I maybe had ONE button open on the top of my shirt and you know you can’t go out in that condition without a scarf. Or the time I went to the doctor for an earache and he asked me if I had “preso vento” (taken wind) in my ears. We could be here for hours…

  6. mummy says:

    Maybe it’s time you told him that eating home made chocolate cakes makes you immune to all Italian ailments, imagined or otherwise.

  7. Christi says:

    Hurray for mentioning these cazzate! I’ve heard all of these and will add that my husband was surprised when I said there absolutely wasn’t a problem for menstruating women to take showers/swim, in fact, it’s an extra reason to shower! And what about the magical, mythical powers of a digestivo after dinner? Anyone else watch Zenzero and notice that everyone worries how they will ever manage to digest their dinners without the aid of an after-dinner cordial…??

  8. Maybe I should start selling the *pance coperto* that I made for my husband. hehehttp://tinyurl.com/hzc6zMy husband still uses his…

  9. Kataroma says:

    Ugh – my boyfriend has all the same beliefs. But I must admit I actually enjoy shocking people by turning up at work with wet hair! 🙂

  10. Cynthia Rae says:

    Yael,You made me laugh with this one! I am always saying thing to Danilo like “a virus causes a cold NOT cool air on your neck”. It is no use. Italians believe these insane ideas about health and do not accept proven facts of science. One fall day, I am going to walk to our town square BAREFOOT with wet hair minus a scarf, just to prove to the Italians that it WILL NOT KILL ME!Cyn

  11. Cath says:

    I used to think that too but maybe there is something in it after all ….http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/4548338.stm

  12. Anonymous says:

    I am Italian and my husband is Canadian (english speaker). He never understood these colpi di freddo/ vento ecc, but he started drying his hair without me telling to do it because he felt cold with wet hair, in summer, and he is insisting on giving more antibiotics to our cat to prevent getting sick in the future. If you ask me it has nothing to do with Italians, but with men in genral.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Amen. And when they make me close the windows on the buses and trains in the summer to avoid the death dealing breeze it might cause. In NW Connecticut I swam 4 times a week and in the winter, my hair would literaly be FROZEN by the time I got to my car. NO COLDS EVER in that period. Now, wet. cold feet might be another thing….Alison

  14. leng says:

    hey, what about drinking iced water in the heat of summer???? my 12-year-old daughter very cleverly retorted when her aunt stopped her drinking ice water with: “so why is it ok to eat ice-cream then?” I certainly can’t imagine having a G&T without ice – summer or winter! She was also told that if she washed her hair everyday or even every other day, her hair would fall out more. I’ve washed my hair everyday all my life (a habit from having lived in the tropics) and I’m proud to say I still have a full hair of hair (albeit a little grey now).

  15. Romerican says:

    At least, he’d be right about the cheese!

Leave a Reply

Monochrome Mule

Sam Newson | Photography

wildmanwrites's Blog

photography, features, thoughts and ponderings on stuff

Hobo Artclub

Food, Wine, Art Exhibits and Events

Craig Shaw

Things I have written using words

GUSTO! Blog

Gusto Wine Tours - Umbria.

