English girls are much better bakers

Largely due to my own big fat gob, I am gaining a bit of a reputation as a ‘cake maker’ round these parts. This means that now on every birthday or wedding I find myself, stupidly, offering to bake more and more elaborate cakes in a bid to wow the family.

I have now taken this stupidity to a new level by practically forcing Stef’s cousin to let me bake 400 mini heart shaped cookies for his up coming wedding. Not too difficult you say, but of course I insisted that each one should be iced and then the initials of the happy couple should be hand piped onto each and every damn cookie.


This is as far as I have got.
If anyone has a clue how to use writing icing nozzle number 1.5 without spraying yourself or the kitchen with pink icing, please, do drop me a line.

On a slightly less frazzled note, now chocolate cake I can do one handed with my cocking eyes closed.
See below a mini cake I rustled up for Stef just because I love him.

14 thoughts on “English girls are much better bakers

  1. Yum, cakes! I used to be known as the “sweet maker” because I liked to make cakes, sweet breads, desserts and candy above everything else. ๐Ÿ™‚ Recipes, give ’em over!

  2. em says:

    can we have a slumber party where you bake lots of naughty things and I sit around like a whale and eat all of them? BTW, not kidding about moving in…seriously I’m standing by your door with a bib on and my mouth open.

  3. You are nuts. 400 sets of tiny intertwined initials?you are nuts.

  4. avery says:

    omg! my mouth is salivating as I’m eyeing that chocolate one. It looks so good. I hope Stef realizes how lucky he is to be lavished with home baked goodies b/c there are some women out there (ahem, not me of course) who couldn’t work an oven if their life depended on it. Is this a new career direction for you? And do you deliver to Rome?

  5. avery says:

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  6. Yael says:

    There’s as much chocolate cake as you can can eat for anyone willing to come and help me with the initials!

  7. Anonymous says:

    yummmm, now that is one tasty looking cake!!!!!

  8. Carole B. says:

    Ooooh Yael – I can’t cope any more with dribbling all over my blo*dy computer every time you post a picture of your GORGEOUS cakes!That ‘chocolate affair’ is – without a doubt – just to die for…… You naughty girl putting temptation in my way like that!But if nothing else the sight of that and the thought of 400 mini biscuits has dragged me out of the nasty doldrums I’ve been in!!!!!Thankyou…..

  9. Ok, it’s settled. I am definitely hiring YOU to do my Italian wedding cake. The idea of profiteroles (for the uninitiated, basically a mountain of chocolate cream puffs) just wasn’t cutting it– where does the statue of the bride and groom go on something like that, I ask?

  10. nikinpos says:

    Hmmm, are you, like me baffled by the weird ricotta filled flakey pastry things that the Italians call cakes? I have always been disappointed with the soggy wet sponge liquor filled birthday cakes too.

  11. mummy says:

    We wondered if you can make stencils of the initials and spread the icing over the stencils. Or buy some mini gold stick on edible paper that you ice around. the other thing was maybe you get a punch made (like those for crafty people who make cards)of the initials and use rice paper. Or pipe the initials on a sheet of wax paper put them in the freezer and lift them frozen onto the cookies. That way any rejects is just the icing rather than the whole cookie. I think you are an absolute star – nuts, but a star.

  12. the cake looks delicious! i wish i could do that. are you available for anniversaries as well? ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. That cake looks so delicious! Check out these two cakes this gal makes. I love her craftiness. http://www.kodakgallery.com/jenny/projects/mya_s_lady_bug_cakehttp://www.ljcfyi.com/ljcsProjects/cooking/caterpillarCake.htmlCould be very cute for your daughter. :OD

  14. Michelle says:

    Oh my goodness your yummy baked goods posts make my days … and nights! Kudos to you, and please post more! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Monochrome Mule

Sam Newson | Photography

wildmanwrites's Blog

photography, features, thoughts and ponderings on stuff

Hobo Artclub

Food, Wine, Art Exhibits and Events

Craig Shaw

Things I have written using words

GUSTO! Blog

Gusto Wine Tours - Umbria.

