Rebel & B Girl finally see another bit of Italy

We went to L’Aquila, the ‘capital’ of Abruzzo, last weekend. Very picturesque city, lots of winding cobbled streets and fab churches. I never realised Abruzzo was so beautiful, once you get out of Pescara that is.
As usual though we arrived at 4pm, we never get up before midday at the weekend, so we missed the market which I really wanted to see. Nonetheless a lovely day was had by all, I even had a cup of tea and a biscuit, a right treat on my strict diet regime.

…and yes, before you say it, I am still wearing sunglasses even though the street lamps are on and it’s quite clearly dusk. What can I say, I’m practically Italian now…

7 thoughts on “Rebel & B Girl finally see another bit of Italy

  1. Annika says:

    Never mind the sunglasses, I’m mostly amazed of the fact that you’re still carrying Lila! After all, she must be some 8 months or so now, right? Guess you have a really strong back!I remember carrying Alexander until he was like 3-4 months, then he was simply too heavy for me. Then again, I’m not a big person and not a very strong one either.. 🙂

  2. Lori says:

    I spent a total of half an hour in pescara, transfering from the airport bus to the train station. while i only saw one road of the town, it left me with a bitter taste in my mouth – although i think that had more to do with the fact that my luggage handle broke and wouldnt extend so i had to bend overthe wholetime to roll it! Other than that I’ve been to alba adriatica a few times visiting afriend, and i have to say they have quite a nice beach front! quite different from what i was used to in civitanova!

  3. Tracie B. says:

    and where are bgirl’s glasses, hhmm? she’s half italian…

  4. nikinpos says:

    excuse me but how on earth do you manage to get up at midday with baby around? Does she go to bed at midnight?You wait till she starts school!!I hate having to get up, feed,dress Skye and take her to school for 9.30 and when she starts ‘real’ school she will have to be there at 8am! Aaagghh!!

  5. Cynthia Rae says:

    The sunglasses at dusk make you fit right in. All you need is a little pair for your sweet baby.L’Aquila sounds like a nice place. There are soooo many towns and cities to visit in Italy. I could spend a life time here and never see it all.Cyn

  6. Yael says:

    Annika – it’s not by choice blame ‘attachment parenting’, she won’t be put down now (rolls eyes).Lori – sounds like Pescara all righty.Niki – B Girl’s bedtime? Whenever the hell she wants to go. (normally 11:30pm – appalling I know)Tracie, Cyn – Don’t even jest did you know you can buy baby sunglasses? Only in Italy (rolls eyes again)

  7. ooh, thanks for the post on L’Aquila. There is a chance I’ll be going there this weekend–there was an article about it in The Repubblica’s Viaggi magazine, and it looks really neat. Have you been to Sulmona? We love Sulmona.-Jackiedon’t worry about the sunglasses. I had a girl in my beauticians-learning-english class (i’m the teacher, not the beautician!) wear them all 2 hours of an indoor lesson. that was weird.

Leave a Reply

Monochrome Mule

Sam Newson | Photography

wildmanwrites's Blog

photography, features, thoughts and ponderings on stuff

Hobo Artclub

Food, Wine, Art Exhibits and Events

Craig Shaw

Things I have written using words

GUSTO! Blog

Gusto Wine Tours - Umbria.

